Maimoon Palace

Medan, Indonesia

Maimoon Palace

The Maimoon Palace or Istana Maimoon is located at Jalan Brig. Jend. Katamso in downtown Medan and it is a famous landmark. It is a huge palace with 40 rooms and covers an area of 2,772 m2, including the surrounding grounds. It was build on the order of Sultan Makmun Al Rasyid Perkasa Alamsyah, Sultan of Deli, in 1887 to 1891. Descendents of the Sultan still occupy a wing of the Palace

The interior design of the palace is the most attractive part. It is a unique mixture of elements of the Malay cultural heritage as well as Italian, Spanish, Indian and Islam style. At that time it was a bold combination of traditional Malay and Islam styles and European styles. Some of the building materials were even imported from Europe.

Inside are family photographs, old weapons and furniture.

Maimoon Palace

The Palace consists of two floors divided each into three parts: the main building, the left wing and the right weng. Each floor has 20 rooms. The total of 40 rooms of this Palace does not include the prison in the basement, kitchen and bathrooms.

Maimoon Palace

Loading map...

Open in Google Maps

Transport options Maimoon Palace

The Palace is located downtown Medan behind the Grand Mosque and is open every day from 08:00 till 17:00.

Things to do close by Maimoon Palace

Medan Travel Guide


Horas!! That's the typical greeting of medan. This greeting is usually said loudly by people of Medan, the capital of Sumatera Utara Province. Medan is rich of many cultures as several several ethnic groups live here. The most prominent is the Batak tribe.

Read more Medan

Flying to Medan

Medan is served by Kualanamu International Airport. Kualanamu International Airport is located about 35 km east from Medan. A taxi into the city from Kualanamu International Airport would cost IDR 150.000. Read more about Kualanamu International Airport or look for flights to Medan

A train to Medan

Medan is also reachable by train. The city has several train stations where long-distance trains stop: station Aekloba, station Bajalinggei, station Bandarkalipah, station Bandartinggi, station Batangkuis, station Dolokmerangir, station Hengelo, station Limapuluh, station Medan, station Membangmuda, station Padanghalaban, station Pamingke, station Perbaungan, station Perlanaan, station Puluraja, station Sei Bejangkar, station Tebing Tinggi.

Look for trains to Medan.