Yvo and utiketPhilippines

Dua Warna Waterfall

Medan, Indonesia

Dua Warna Waterfall

Dua Warna Waterfall is located in Durin Sirugun village, Sibolangit sub-district around 75 km from Medan. The waterfall was formed as a result of Mount Sibayak's explosion hundred of years ago and the water originates also from Mount Sibayak. As the name implies, this waterfall has two colors, light blue water while it falls and greyish white below.

The colors of the water are influenced by phosphorus and sulphur contained in the water. Because of those chemicals it's quite dangerous to drink the water found at this waterfall. So be careful while you swim in the water.

The 100 metres high waterfall is located inside a forest. You would need a to hire a local guide to go through this forest to head to Dua Warna Waterfall. This will cost you around IDR 100,000 to 300,000, depending your wishes and bargaining power. You will need to go through the entrance at Sibolangit camp site then you continue by trekking through forest for about 2-3 hours. Best not to visit this place in the rainy season as the path can get very slippery and there is no shelter available along the way.

Transport options Dua Warna Waterfall

From Medan you can get on a bus or take a taxi and head to Sibolangit, around 75 km away. At the Sibolangit camp site is the entrance for Dua Warna Waterfall.

Ratings for: Dua Warna Waterfall

5.6 / 10

Out a score of ten. Based on 4 ratings

Good value5

Rate this

Good value

Related places: Nature

Things to do close by Dua Warna Waterfall

Getting to Medan

Flying to Medan

Medan is served by Kualanamu International Airport. MedanKualanamu International Airport is located about 35 km east from Medan. A taxi into the city from Kualanamu International Airport would cost IDR 150.000. Read more about Kualanamu International Airport or look for flights to Medan

A train to Medan

Medan is also reachable by train. The city has several train stations where long-distance trains stop: station Aekloba, station Bajalinggei, station Bandarkalipah, station Bandartinggi, station Batangkuis, station Dolokmerangir, station Hengelo, station Limapuluh, station Medan, station Membangmuda, station Padanghalaban, station Pamingke, station Perbaungan, station Perlanaan, station Puluraja, station Sei Bejangkar, station Tebing Tinggi.

Look for more Trains to Medan.